Monday, May 4, 2009

South African Music Awards 2009 Winners


The winners:

Best African Traditional: Rebecca Malope - Ujehova Ungu’ Madida
Best Contemporary Jazz Album: The Moreira Project - Volume Two Citizen of the World

Best Maskanda Album: Imithente - Simqonda Ngqo
Music Video of the Year: The Parlotones - Overexposed
Best Urban Dance Album: DJ Kent - Mixing Buisness with Pleasure
Best Urban Pop Album: The Gang of Instrumentals - Round 3
Lifetime Achiever Awards: Anton Goosen & Yvonne Chaka Chaka
Best Afrikaans Pop: Eden - Kniee Lam

Best African Pop: Theo Kgosinkwe - I Am

Best English Rock Album: Zebra & Giraffe - Collected Memories
Best Rap Album: Teargas - Wata Wata
Best Kwaito Album: Brickz - Stop Nonsense
Best Selling Album: Lianie May - Vergeet My Nie

Best Producer and Best Dance album: Goldfish

Newcomer of the Year - Andile Mseleku
Duo or Group of the Year - Soweto Gospel Choir
Best Female Artist of the Year - Lira
Best Male Artist of the Year - Abdullah Ibrahim
MTN Record of the Year - Rhythmic Elements

Album of the Year: Lira - Soul in Mind